2014 primary election results

2014 primary election results

By WTMJ Staff. CREATED Aug 12, 2014

For a list of complete election results, click here

UPDATE: Sheriff David Clarke escapes with a victory over challenger Chris Moews.

10:56 p.m. - State Sen. Glenn Grothman has defeated three other Republicans in a hard-fought primary race to succeed retiring U.S. Rep. Tom Petri.

10:01 p.m. - U.S. Rep. Gwen Moore has defeated convicted felon and former state Sen. Gary George in a Milwaukee-area Democratic primary.

8:39 p.m. - Mary Burke has won the Democratic nomination for governor. She'll face off against Gov. Scott Walker in the general election this november.


Voting has now concluded for the 2014 primary election. 

Executive Director for the Milwaukee Election Commission Neil Albrecht said things went smoothly, with the exception of a few complaints about the partisan primary ballot. 

"What we're hearing more than anything is just some voter confusion and even frustration about the partisan primary ballot and how difficult that can be to understand and navigate," Albrecht said. 

For more on voter turnout, click here

We'll update this story with results as they are finalized.