3 northern Wisconsin counties declared major disaster areas

3 northern Wisconsin counties declared major disaster areas

By Matt Montgomery. CREATED Aug 2, 2012

MADISON- Three northern Wisconsin counties have been declared major disaster areas by the U.S. government following June's floods.

Governor Walker said Thursday local governments in Ashland, Bayfield and Douglas Counties as well as the Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa can apply for federal assistance to help recover some of the costs incurred through fighting the floods and repair infrastructure.

The flooding began on June 19 when a severe thunderstorm dumped 8-10 inches of rain over northwestern Wisconsin causing significant damage to homes, businesses and roads.

Under the program, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) provides 75 percent of eligible costs, while state and local agencies share 12.5 percent of the costs.

"We will continue to help Wisconsin communities recover from these damaging floods," Governor Walker said.  "I am optimistic that we'll be able to rebuild communities."

Last week, Governor Walker formally requested a federal disaster declaration for three Wisconsin counties hit hard by flooding.    The University of Wisconsin-Superior was hit particularly hard sustaining water damage to 14 buildings including the library and power plant.