Florida Georgia Line calls involvement in Mötley Crüe tribute ‘a huge honor’

Tyler Hubbard (L) and Brian Kelley of Florida Georgia Line perform On ABC's "Good Morning America" at Rumsey Playfield in New York's Central Park on August 15, 2014. (Photo by Mike Coppola/Getty Images) Image by Getty Images

Florida Georgia Line calls involvement in Mötley Crüe tribute ‘a huge honor’

By Phyllis Stark. CREATED Aug 28, 2014

A newly-released tribute album, “Nashville Outlaws: A Country Tribute to Mötley Crüe,” makes a strong debut on the Billboard album charts this week, arriving at No. 2 on Top Country Albums and No. 5 on the all-genre Billboard 200.

The album features numerous country stars re-imaging classic songs from the iconic heavy metal band. One of the set’s many highlights is Florida Georgia Line’s take on “If I Die Tomorrow, a song Mötley Crüe released on their 2005 compilation album, “Red, White & Crüe,” that went on to become a top five hit for them on the rock chats.
Nashville Edge recently spoke with Florida Georgia Line’s Tyler Hubbard about the track, and why the duo wanted to be part of the tribute album.
“We’ve been fans of Mötley Crüe for a long time,” he says. “We used to watch their documentaries in the Tahoe we were traveling around the country in playing clubs. So when we were asked to be on that record, it was a huge honor for us.”
While Tyler thinks their choice of newer Crüe song may have surprised some people, he says they picked it, in part, because both he and bandmate Brian Kelley felt like they “could do a real good job with it. … We loved the vibe of it,” Tyler adds. “It’s more of a newer song for them, so maybe it’s something that wasn’t expected, but we enjoyed recording it.”
Here's the full track listing for “Nashville Outlaws: A Country Tribute to Mötley Crüe”.
Rascal Flatts – “Kickstart My Heart”
Florida Georgia Line – “If I Die Tomorrow”
LeAnn Rimes – “Smokin' In The Boys Room”
Justin Moore – “Home Sweet Home”
Cassadee Pope with Robin Zander – “The Animal In Me”
Aaron Lewis – “Afraid”
Big & Rich – “SOS”
Sam Palladio and Clare Bowen – “Without You”
Eli Young Band – “Don't Go Away Mad”
Lauren Jenkins – “Looks That Kill”
The Cadillac Three – “Live Wire”
The Mavericks – “Dr. Feelgood”
Brantley Gilbert – “Girls Girls Girls”
Gretchen Wilson – “Wild Side”
Darius Rucker – “Time For Change”
Phyllis Stark

Phyllis Stark

Email Facebook Twitter
Phyllis Stark is the Digital Executive Producer - National Content for Scripps Media.