Exclusive interview: Mötley Crüe gets immersed in country music (part one)


Exclusive interview: Mötley Crüe gets immersed in country music (part one)

By Phyllis Stark. CREATED Aug 18, 2014

They may be known as the Outlaws of Sunset Strip, but the members of Mötley Crüe have been spending a bit of time in Nashville lately readying for Tuesday’s release of “Nashville Outlaws: A Country Tribute to Mötley Crüe.” The set finds a group of top Nashville artists, and a few up-and-comers, paying tribute to the iconic rock band by recording cover version of their best known hits, from “Dr. Feelgood” to “Girls Girls Girls.” Among the stars on the project are Rascal Flatts, Florida Georgia Line, Darius Rucker and Brantley Gilbert.

Nashville Edge recently sat down with the band’s Vince Neil and Nikki Sixx at a Nashville hotel to chat about the project. Watch part one of our interview with them above to learn which song cut by a country artist Vince thinks is better than his band’s own version, which song Nikki says is “a party,” and which one they hope to hear blaring from the speakers in a strip club one day.
They also talk about how country music has changed since they were growing up, with Vince noting, “The newer country bands are more rock and roll than most rock and roll bands are now.”
And they share their “blown away” reaction to hearing the finished tribute album for the first time, and their surprise at the direction some of the country singers took with their cover versions.
Additionally they explain why they chose not to get too involved in the album-making process and, instead, let the artists involved follow their own creative path.
“Nashville Outlaws: A Country Tribute to Mötley Crüe” is available at all music retail outlets Aug. 19. Here’s the full track listing.
Rascal Flatts – “Kickstart My Heart”
Florida Georgia Line – “If I Die Tomorrow”
LeAnn Rimes – “Smokin’ In The Boys Room”
Justin Moore – “Home Sweet Home”
Cassadee Pope with Robin Zander – “The Animal In Me”
Aaron Lewis – “Afraid”
Big & Rich – “SOS”
Sam Palladio and Clare Bowen – “Without You”
Eli Young Band – “Don’t Go Away Mad”
Lauren Jenkins – “Looks That Kill”
The Cadillac Three – “Live Wire”
The Mavericks – “Dr. Feelgood”
Brantley Gilbert – “Girls Girls Girls”
Gretchen Wilson – “Wild Side”
Darius Rucker – “Time For Change”
Phyllis Stark

Phyllis Stark

Email Facebook Twitter
Phyllis Stark is the Digital Executive Producer - National Content for Scripps Media.