Weather Alerts 5 View »

Wichita State Leads Missouri State 33-19 At Halftime In MVC Tournament

Wichita State Leads Missouri State 33-19 At Halftime In MVC Tournament

By Don Louzader. CREATED Mar 8, 2014

The WIchita State Shockers hold a 33-19 lead over the Missouri State Bears at the half in the semifinals of the Missouri Valley Conference Tournament at Scottrade Center in St. Louis.

The Bears started competitively enough for MSU, who jumped out to a 3-0 lead on a long one from Jarmar Gulley, but the Shockers countered with a three pointer of their own by Ron Baker19 seconds later.

When Nathan Scheer hit a three pointer with 10:07 to play in the half, the Bears trailed 13-10.

Dorrian Williams then hit a driving layup at the 8:49 mark to pull Missouri State within a point, 13-12.

But things started to collapse in a hurry for Paul Lusk's Bears, as the Shockers went on a 17-0 run encompassing more than six and a half minutes of play, going up 30-12 with 3:03 left.

During that stretch, senior Keith PIckens called timeout, and limped off the court, while senior Jarmar Gulley also hit the floor and didn't return to the court the rest of the half.

The Bears got a spark from Gavin Thurman, who broke the scoring drought with a jumper with 2:13 left, then followed with a three pointer at the 1:11 mark to bring MSU within 13 of the lead, 30-17.

But Cleanthony Early tossed in a three pointer in the final minute of the half before Ruder hit a last second shot for Missouri State.

Early's 14 points lead the Shockers, while Gulley and Thurman have five points each to lead the Bears.

The Shockers, ranked second in the nation, come into today's play 32-0, the last unbeaten team in major college basketball.

The Bears are 20-11 after their opening round tournament win against Illinois State.

We'll have a complete game recap with player and coach reaction and photos from Arch Madness after the contest on




Don Louzader

Don Louzader

Email Twitter
I’ve been a member of the KTTS News Team since 1995, and have been news director since 2004.