Weather Alerts 5 View »

President Declares Disaster For 29 Counties

Image by KTTS News file photo

President Declares Disaster For 29 Counties

By Jason Rima. CREATED Jul 19, 2013

WASHINGTON, D.C. (AP) - President Barack Obama has declared a major disaster declaration after severe storms struck Missouri from May 29 to June 10.

The storms included one that spawned a tornado in the St. Louis area and others that caused widespread flooding.

The declaration allows the federal government to provide government entities and some nonprofits help paying for emergency work and facility replacement and repairs in 29 counties, including Barton, Texas, and Webster counties.  

They span from Barton County on the border with Kansas to St. Louis County.

Funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Obama will travel Wednesday to Galesburg, Ill., and Warrensburg, Mo., to make his case for spending on infrastructure and for universal pre-school programs.

Obama is also expected to highlight the economic benefits of overhauling immigration laws.

Jason Rima

Jason Rima

Email Twitter
Anchor and Reporter for KTTS News since 1997. Jason provides the Ozarks with the morning Go-Patrol traffic report