Weather Alerts 5 View »

New laws impacting Nevada drivers in 2014

  • Play
  • Play

Video by

New laws impacting Nevada drivers in 2014

By Denise Wong. CREATED Dec 30, 2013

Henderson, NV (KTNV) -- Nevada drivers, get ready for some new laws that could affect you and the time you spend at the DMV.

Driver Authorization Cards

Starting in January, the new state law goes into effect that, for the first time, will enable undocumented immigrants to obtain a Driver Authorization Card. While it cannot be used as an official identification card, it will give these drivers something to show if they are ever pulled over or involved in a crash. 

DMV Spokesperson Kevin Malone said lawmakers pushed the legislation through because they wanted to make our roads safer. He said these cards enable the state to keep better track of who is using our roads. The state estimated that 60,000 people would apply for the cards in 2014.

Malone said the cards look just like a Nevada Driver License, except it says: "Not valid for identification." That means the card owners will not be able to use them to do things like apply for state benefits and business licenses and to pass security at the airport. Malone said the DMV has spent the last month training its employees to make sure they are ready for people who come in in January, requesting these cards. To get one, he said applicants have to show two forms of identification, two documents that prove Nevada residency and they have to pass the driving and written tests. The final cost will end up being about $50. 

8-Year Licenses

That's not the only new law affecting drivers. Nevada is transitioning to licenses that will be valid for eight years instead of four. Most original licenses or ID cards will be valid for eight years beginning Jan. 2.

Motorists age 65 and older will receive a 4-year license only. The fee is $17.25.

The new expiration terms do not apply to limited-term licenses issued to immigrants and certain other motorists. 8-year commercial licenses will be issued beginning on July 8.

If you were born in an even-numbered year, you will receive an 8-year license at your next renewal. You must renew in person at a DMV office. The fee is $41.25.

If you were born in an odd-numbered year, you will receive a 4-year license at any renewal through 2017. You may be eligible to renew by internet, mail or kiosk. The fee is $22.25. You will receive an 8-year license with your renewal in 2018 or later.

Veteran Designation

Finally ,Veterans with an honorable discharge may have a designation placed on their license next to the license number.  It will be the word “VETERAN” in blue placed next to the license or ID card number. Bring your DD-214 discharge form to your next renewal to the DMV or mail a copy with a mailed renewal.