Final nine compete for more than $8 million in World Series of Poker


Video by

Final nine compete for more than $8 million in World Series of Poker

By Denise Wong. CREATED Nov 4, 2013

Las Vegas, NV (KTNV) -- The stakes are high and a lot of eyes are on Las Vegas where the World Series of Poker Main Event begins today at the Rio.

More than 6,300 poker players entered this year's tournament but now it is down to the last nine players.

Over the next two days, those nine players will be trying to win poker's most coveted title.

The winner will take home more than $8.3 million dollars and the World Series of Poker gold bracelet.

The World Series of Poker is poker's longest-running tournament in the world, dating back to 1970. So, this is the 44th year for the tournament.

The final nine players represent five countries: Canada, France, Israel, the Netherlands and the United States.

Eight of them are professional players and the other is a club promoter from Las Vegas.

The chip leader is 36-year-old poker professional J.C. Tran from Sacramento, Calif.

Jay Farber is the VIP host from Las Vegas.

Other players include 26-year-old Sylvain Loosli from London; 32-year-old Michiel Brummelhuis from Amsterdam; 28-year-old Mark Newhouse from Las Vegas; 23-year-old Ryan Riess from Las Vegas; 38-year-old Amir Lehavot from Florida; 25-year-old Marc-Etienne McLaughlin from Quebec; and 27-year-old David Benefield from New York City.

In addition to the first-place prize of $8,359,531, prize money for the remaining eight spots is as follows*:
2nd place: $5,173,170
3rd place: $3,727,023
4th place: $2,791,983
5th place: $2,106,526
6th place: $1,600,792
7th place: $1,225,224
8th place: $944,593
9th place: $733,224

The play starts tonight at the Rio at 4:45 p.m. (television coverage begins at 5).