Weather Alerts 9 View »

Two Iowa Counties Added to Disaster Declaration

Two Iowa Counties Added to Disaster Declaration

By Kristi Salyers. CREATED Aug 20, 2013

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP)-Two counties have been added to a presidential disaster declaration for damage caused by storms in June.  

Governor Terry Branstad announced Tuesday that Audubon and Grundy counties were added to the declaration that initially included Allamakee, Benton, Buchanan, Butler, Cedar, Clayton, Delaware, Howard, Jones and Winneshiek counties. Those areas suffered damage from severe storms and flooding between June 21 and 28.  

The declaration by President Barack Obama provides assistance to state and local governments as well as certain nonprofits, such as municipal utilities, for emergency work and repairs to damaged facilities. Money is also available to public entities for repairs to damaged roads, bridges and other infrastructure.