Weather Alerts 3 View »

New Mayor in Desert Hot Springs?

New Mayor in Desert Hot Springs?

By David Reese. CREATED Nov 9, 2013

 DESERT HOT SPRINGS - It appears the city of Desert Hot Springs has elected a new mayor.

New, updated election returns posted Saturday now show DHS city councilor Adam Sanchez with a 12 vote lead on incumbent Mayor Yvonne Parks. 

From the Riverside County Registar's Office:

  Vote Count Percent
ADAM SANCHEZ 1,042 43.20%
YVONNE PARKS 1,030 42.70%
Total 2,412 100.00%

The registrar's office now says the ballot count is complete, but the results are still unofficial until they're certified on Tuesday.

Incumbent Mayor Yvonne Parks can request a recount, which would delay the certification of the results.  Parks' ally on the council, Jan Pye lost her council seat in this election.  Parks has been mayor of Desert Hot Springs since 2007.