Weather Alerts 1 View »

New Michael Jackson album drops May 13

Image by AP

New Michael Jackson album drops May 13

By Julianne Cassidy. CREATED Mar 31, 2014

Michael Jackson has a posthumous album, "Xscape," set for release on May 13.

Epic Records and Jackson's estate granted producers L.A. Reid and Timbaland permission to "contemporize" eight unreleased songs which had finished vocals from Jackson.

According to Billboard, Reid said in a statement, "Michael left behind some musical performances that we take great pride in presenting through the vision of music producers that he either worked directly with or expressed strong desire to work with. We are extremely proud and honored to present this music to the world."

Additional producers on the project are Rodney Jerkins, Stargate, Jerome "Jroc" Harmon and John McClain. The title track was written by Jackson and Jerkins.

Pre-orders for both the albums regular version and a deluxe edition begin on April 1. The deluxe edition will also include all of the recordings in their original form.

Jackson passed away in 2009.

Julianne Cassidy

Julianne Cassidy

Email Facebook Twitter
A city girl gone country, Philadelphia-bred journalist Julianne Cassidy relocated to be a Nashville-based digital editor for Scripps Media, Inc.