Weather Alerts 1 View »

Goldschmidt and Parra win Gold Glove awards

Goldschmidt and Parra win Gold Glove awards

By Jason Barr. CREATED Oct 29, 2013

PHOENIX - Arizona Diamondbacks’ first baseman Paul Goldschmidt and right fielder Gerardo Parra have been named 2013 Rawlings Gold Glove Award recipients for National League, as announced by Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc.

The award recognizes the best defensive players at their respective positions as voted by Major League Baseball managers and coaches. “It's a great award for Paul Goldschmidt and Gerardo Parra,” said D-backs Manager Kirk Gibson. “They both work very hard and they've come a long way. That was one of their goals, to be able to do that and it's good to see that they are honored with Gold Glove awards.” 

Goldschmidt, 26, is the fourth D-backs player to win a Rawlings Gold Glove Award, joining outfielder Steve Finley (1999, 2000), second baseman Orlando Hudson (2006-07) and outfielder Parra (2011, ’13). Goldschmidt led all NL first basemen in putouts (1,494) and total chances (1,598) while ranking second with a .997 fielding percentage, trailing only the Rockies’ Todd Helton (.998). Goldschmidt, who was the 2013 NL Hank Aaron Award winner, is the third NL player to win both the league’s top offensive accolade and defensive honor, joining outfielders Andruw Jones (2005) and Matt Kemp (2011).