Weather Alerts 15 View »

Wichita State's VanVleet wins Missouri Valley MVP award

Wichita State's VanVleet wins Missouri Valley MVP award

By George Lawson. CREATED Mar 4, 2014

Wichita State University sophomore Fred VanVleet has been named as the 2014 Missouri Valley Conference Larry Bird Player of the Year.   VanVleet helped lead the Shockers to a perfect 31-0 regular season in men's basketball, and he's the fourth Shocker to win the league's Player of the Year award.   The previous winners were Antoine Carr in 1983, Xavier McDaniel in 1984 and 1985, and Paul Miler in 2006.  

The Missouri Valley Conference also announced its all conference teams, and three Shockers made the first team.   Sophomore guard Ron Baker, Senior forward Cleanthony Early and VanVleet were named to the first team, along with Evansville sophomore D.J. Balentine and Indiana State senior Jake Odum.    Cotton and VanVleet were also named to the conference's all-defensive team.   

Wichita State junior Tekele Cotton was named to the second team, and junior Darius Carter was named to the all-newcomer team.