Weather Alerts 15 View »

President Obama approves disaster declaration

Several inches of rain has brought up levels on the Arkansas River

President Obama approves disaster declaration

By Matthew Harding . CREATED Oct 22, 2013

Forty-six Kansas counties can now apply for federal disaster assistance following severe weather and heavy rain in late July into August. 

President Barack Obama signed off on the request ,made by Kansas Gov. Sam Brownback, on Tuesday. 

"This federal assistance will help these counties restore roads, bridges, and other infrastructure so vital to the day to day business of their communities," said Brownback. 

Butler, Chase, Cowley, Harper, Harvey, Kingman, Marion, McPherson, Pratt, Reno, Saline and Sumner counties are among those eligible for aid.